MYCPE ONE

Maine CPA CPE Requirements

Know Your Requirement

Maine CPA CPE Requirements Overview

Last Reviewed on: 26 Mar, 2026

CPE Requirements
No more than 40 hours CPE with minimum 20 hours annually.
License Renewal period
September 30th Annually.
CPE Reporting Cycle
October 1 to September 30, annually.
Ethics Requirement
Four (4) hours every three years. View more
Carry Over CreditsExcess Credit up to 20 hours can be carried forward to the next reporting cycle.
Subject Area RestrictionNon-Technical subjects such as Communication Arts, Mathematics, Economics, Business Law, Human Resources Policies, and Computer Software Applications may not exceed 50% of the required hours. 

Need guidance with compliance requirements?

Speak with our Compliance Advisor

compliance requirements

Simplifying Regulations for 2026

CPE RequirementsMaine CPAs must complete 40 hours with a minimum of 20 annually.
Initial CPE HoursA person who obtains a license for the first time shall complete at least forty (40) credits of acceptable CPE during the first entire annual period following the year the original permit was obtained.
Ethics RequirementFour (4) hours every three years. View more
Content RequirementNon-technical subjects such as Communication Arts, Mathematics, Economics, Business Law, Human Resources Policies, and Computer Software Applications may not exceed 50% of the required hours.
Subject AreasMaine CPAs can find detailed FOS on this link.
Learning ModesAll CPE can be completed through self-study, provided the courses are from approved providers.
Eligible Learning ActivitiesEligible learning activities include Publications, Accredited universities, Formal correspondence or other individual study programs and more.
CPE DeadlineCPE credits must be completed by 30 September annually.
ReportingCPE credits must be reported from 1 October to 30 September annually.
License Renewal
  • Renew your CPA license on 30th September annually. 
  • If not renewed till this date, a penalty will be applied of $50.
Carry ForwardA maximum of 20 Credits can be carried forward to next year.
Record Retention
Maintain records of completed CPE credits for 3 years as they may be subject to audit by the state board.
Renewal Fees
The renewal fee for Maine CPAs is $35. View More

Do MYCPE ONE Courses Qualify for CPE in the State of Maine? - YES!

MYCPE ONE is a NASBA-approved sponsor (ID: 143597), and our courses meet the Maine Board’s standards for CPE. While NASBA approval is not required in Maine, our programs align with all state requirements and include multiple qualifying formats, including -  

  • Group Internet Based Live Webinars   
  • QAS Self-Study - Self-Paced Courses  
  • Group Live  
  • Nano Learning  

You can verify our NASBA sponsorship under MYCPE ONE on the NASBA Registry. For convenient access to our courses, click here to explore the MYCPE ONE course catalog. We offer an all-inclusive subscription model, similar to Netflix, where a single subscription gives you access to the largest online course catalog. Plus, our subscription rates are 60% lower than other platforms. Subscribe today!

Contact Information for the Maine Board of Accountancy

Department of Professional & Financial Regulation 
Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation 
35 State House Station 
Augusta, Maine 04333-0035 
Telephone: 207-624-8603 
TTY users call Maine Relay 711 
Fax: 207-624-8637 
Website: Maine Board of Public Accountancy

We Review CPE Compliance Requirements Every Six Months

At MYCPE ONE, we are committed to providing professionals across all designations with the most accurate and up-to-date continuing education information. Our team reviews and updates the CPE requirement information for Maine CPA every Six months to reflect the latest standards and policies set by the state board of Maine and NASBA.

While we work diligently to ensure accuracy, we encourage professionals to confirm the requirements directly with their respective boards or credentialing authorities through the official links provided here.

🎃 Limited Period Offer

Halloween Sale $189 $199/year

All treats, no tricks: a full year of CPE, news and AI Learning

00Hours
00Mins
00Secs
Subscribe Today
🎃 Limited Period Offer

Halloween Sale $189 $199/year

All treats, no tricks: a full year of CPE, news and AI Learning

00Hours
00Mins
00Secs
Subscribe Today

Unlock Annual Access to News & CPE Subscription

Your All-in-One CPE Learning Platform

$199

$189/Year

Silver
Select

$299

$279/Year

Gold
Selected
All Features Included In Your Plan

15,000+ Hrs of CPE Content

500+ Subject Areas

700+ Content Creators

Mandatory Ethics Courses

250+ Compliance Packages

50+ Live Events & Conferences

Podcasts with Industry Leaders

Live, Audio, Video, E-Books

Latest News and Articles (CPE Approved)

Audio Based Courses & Podcasts

Monthly and Quarterly Updates

Add External Certificates with AI

AI Compliance Tracking and Report

Instant Certification and Fast Reporting

Mobile App Access (iOS and Android)

Practical Training Programs

AI Academy

Tax Academy

Audit Academy

Leadership Academy

Get Started Today

card

Payment failed. Your card has expired, please update your card details

Your information is securely encrypted using SSL

Maine CPA CPE Compliance

All-in-one package to fast-track your Maine CPA compliance, saving time and effort.

Frequently Asked Questions

Maine CPAs must complete 40 hours of CPE annually, with a minimum of 20 hours required each year.

A person who obtains a license for the first time must complete at least 40 credits of acceptable CPE during the first entire annual period following the year the original permit was obtained.

Maine CPAs must complete 4 hours of ethics CPE every three years, Click here to view ethics course.

Yes, credit for non-technical subjects such as Communication Arts, Mathematics, Economics, Business Law, Human Resources Policies, and Computer Software Applications may not exceed 50% of the required hours.

For more information on the field of studies of Maine CPAs, Click here.

Yes, all CPE can be completed through self-study, provided the courses are from approved providers.

Eligible learning activities include publications, accredited university courses, formal correspondence, other individual study programs and more.

CPE credits must be completed by September 30 annually.

CPE credits must be reported from October 1 to September 30 annually.

CPAs must renew their licenses by September 30 annually. A penalty of $50 will be applied if the renewal is late.

Yes, a maximum of 20 credits can be carried forward to next year.

Maine CPAs must retain records of completed CPE credits for 3 years, as they may be subject to audit by the state board.

The renewal fee for Maine CPAs is $35. Read more

Here is a link to the state board website where you can access FAQs on CPE requirements and regulations for Maine CPAs.

Yes, the Maine Board of Accountancy accepts CPE courses that meet its standards, including those offered by NASBA-approved providers. MYCPE ONE is a NASBA-approved sponsor (ID: 143597), and our courses align with Maine’s CPE regulations. You can refer to the “QUALIFIES FOR” section on each course page to confirm eligibility.

Please Wait

While we securely retrieve your payment information.
This may take a few seconds.