MYCPE ONE

Kansas CPA CPE Requirements

Know Your Requirement

Kansas CPA CPE Requirements Overview

Last Reviewed on: 25 Mar, 2026

CPE Requirements
80 hours for each biennial period (with a minimum of 16 per year if a licensed municipal public accountant).
License Renewal Period
June 30th, biennially in odd or even-numbered years based on the certificate number.
CPE Reporting Cycle
July 1 to June 30, biennially in odd or even-numbered years based on the certificate number.
Ethics Requirement
Two (2) hours every two years.
Carry Over Credits
Excess Credit of up to 20 CPE hours can be carried forward to the next reporting cycle.
Subject Area Restriction
  • A maximum of 30 percent (24 CPE) credits can be taken in subject areas of personal development. 
  • Licensed municipal public accountants in Kansas must complete at least 8 hours in municipal accounting or auditing.

Need guidance with compliance requirements?

Speak with our Compliance Advisor

compliance requirements

Simplifying Regulations for 2026

Kansas CPE Requirement
Kansas CPAs are required to complete 80 hours every two years, with a minimum of 16 hours each year specifically for licensed municipal public accountants.
Initial CPE Hours
New licensees in Kansas must complete CPE hours proportional to the total required for the renewal period, based on the full months from the permit's issuance date until the next renewal date on June 30. View More
Ethics Requirement
Kansas CPAs must complete 2 hours of professional ethics during the two-year period. View More
Content Requirement
  • Licensed municipal public accountants in Kansas must complete at least 8 hours in municipal accounting or auditing. 
  • A maximum of 30% of the total CPE hours can be obtained through personal development courses. View More
Subject Areas
No specific subject areas are specified, but NASBA-approved fields are accepted. Click here for more information.
Learning Modes
All CPE can be completed through self-study, provided the courses are from approved providers.
Eligible Learning Activities
Group Internet Based, QAS Self-Study, University or college courses, Attending technical sessions Instructor, Lecturer, or Discussion Leader (max. 50% of the total hours), Authorship of books and articles, and more.
CPE Deadline
CPE credits must be completed by June 30 of even-numbered years for licenses issued in even-numbered years, and June 30 of odd-numbered years for licenses issued in odd-numbered years.
Reporting
CPE credits must be reported by July 1 of the issue year to June 30 of the renewal year in a biennial period.
License Renewal
Renew your CPA license by June 30 of even-numbered years for licenses issued in even-numbered years, and June 30 of odd-numbered years for licenses issued in odd-numbered years. Failure to comply with CPE requirements will require the applicant to pay a penalty of $225. View More
Carry Forward
Kansas CPAs can carry over a maximum of 20 Credits.
Record Retention
Maintain records of completed CPE credits for 5 years. View More
Renewal Fees
The renewal fee for Kansas CPAs is $150. View More

Do MYCPE ONE Courses Qualify for CPE in the State of Kansas? Yes!

Kansas accepts continuing education courses from NASBA sponsors, and MYCPE ONE is a registered sponsor and specializes in various learning formats, including - 

  • Group Internet Based, 
  • QAS Self-Study, and 
  • Group Live.

You can verify our NASBA sponsorship under MYCPE ONE on the NASBA Registry. For convenient access to our courses, click here to explore the MYCPE ONE course catalog. We offer an all-inclusive subscription model, similar to Netflix, where a single subscription gives you access to the largest online course catalog. Plus, our subscription rates are 60% lower than other platforms. Subscribe today!

Contact Information for the Kansas Board of Accountancy

Kansas Board of Accountancy
Landon State Office Building
900 SW Jackson, Suite 556
Topeka, KS 66612-1239
Phone: 785-296-2162
Fax: 785-291-3501
Email: ksboa@ks.gov
Website: Kansas Board of Accountancy

We Review CPE Compliance Requirements Every Six Months

At MYCPE ONE, we are committed to providing professionals across all designations with the most accurate and up-to-date continuing education information. Our team reviews and updates the CPE requirement information for Kansas CPA every Six months to reflect the latest standards and policies set by the state board of Kansas and NASBA.

While we work diligently to ensure accuracy, we encourage professionals to confirm the requirements directly with their respective boards or credentialing authorities through the official links provided here.

🎃 Limited Period Offer

Halloween Sale $189 $199/year

All treats, no tricks: a full year of CPE, news and AI Learning

00Hours
00Mins
00Secs
Subscribe Today
🎃 Limited Period Offer

Halloween Sale $189 $199/year

All treats, no tricks: a full year of CPE, news and AI Learning

00Hours
00Mins
00Secs
Subscribe Today

Unlock Annual Access to News & CPE Subscription

Your All-in-One CPE Learning Platform

$199

$189/Year

Silver
Select

$299

$279/Year

Gold
Selected
All Features Included In Your Plan

15,000+ Hrs of CPE Content

500+ Subject Areas

700+ Content Creators

Mandatory Ethics Courses

250+ Compliance Packages

50+ Live Events & Conferences

Podcasts with Industry Leaders

Live, Audio, Video, E-Books

Latest News and Articles (CPE Approved)

Audio Based Courses & Podcasts

Monthly and Quarterly Updates

Add External Certificates with AI

AI Compliance Tracking and Report

Instant Certification and Fast Reporting

Mobile App Access (iOS and Android)

Practical Training Programs

AI Academy

Tax Academy

Audit Academy

Leadership Academy

Get Started Today

card

Payment failed. Your card has expired, please update your card details

Your information is securely encrypted using SSL

Kansas CPA CPE Compliance

All-in-one package to fast-track your Kansas CPA compliance, saving time and effort.

Frequently Asked Questions

Kansas Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals must complete 80 hours of CPE every two years, with a minimum of 16 hours each year for licensed municipal public accountants.

New licensees must complete CPE hours proportional to the total required for the renewal period, based on the months from the permit's issuance date until the next renewal date on June 30.

Kansas Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals must complete 2 hours of professional ethics during the two-year reporting period. Click here to view our ethics course.

A maximum of 30% of the total CPE hours can be spent in personal development courses, and Licensed municipal public accountants must complete at least 8 hours in municipal accounting or auditing.

Kansas Board of Accountancy does not specify particular subject areas, but NASBA-approved fields of study are accepted.

All CPE hours can be completed through self-study, provided the courses are from approved providers.

Eligible activities include Group Internet-based learning, QAS Self-Study, university or college courses, attending technical sessions, instructing, lecturing, serving as a discussion leader (up to 50% of total hours), authoring books or articles, and more.

CPE credits must be completed by June 30 of even-numbered years for licenses issued in even-numbered years and by June 30 of odd-numbered years for permits issued in odd-numbered years.

CPE credits must be reported from July 1 of the issue year to June 30 of the renewal year in a biennial period.

Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals must renew their licenses by June 30 for permits issued in even-numbered years and by June 30 for licenses issued in odd-numbered years. Failure to comply with CPE requirements will result in a penalty of $225.

Kansas Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals can carry over a maximum of 20 CPE credits to the next reporting period.

Kansas Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals must maintain records of completed CPE credits for 5 years.

The renewal fee for Kansas Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals is $150.

Yes, the Kansas Board of Public Accountancy accepts courses from NASBA providers. MYCPE ONE is a NASBA-approved provider (143597), so our courses align with Kansas CPE regulations. To check eligibility, refer to each course page's "QUALIFIES FOR" section.

For additional information on CPE requirements and regulations for Kansas Certified Public Accountant (CPA) Professionals, visit the Kansas Board of Accountancy website.

Please Wait

While we securely retrieve your payment information.
This may take a few seconds.