Limited Period Access to myCPE Prime Unlimited CPE Access starting at $199. Subscribe Now

CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR ARKANSAS CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANTS (CPA)

Certified Public Accountant (CPA) is a designation given by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) to individuals that pass the Uniform CPA Examination and meet the education and experience requirements. The CPA designation helps enforce professional standards in the accounting industry. CPA (Certified Public Accountant) is the highest accounting credential in the United States. CPA ensures global recognition for accounting & finance professionals.

The Board of Accountancy provides assurance to the public that the CPA profession in Arkansas operates at the highest level of professional competence through, verification of education and experience credentials. 

Arkansas (AR) CPA CPE REQUIREMENT OVERVIEW

CPE Requirements

120 hours within the prior 3 years or 40 hours within the one year preceding the expiration of the license

License Renewal Period
January 1st annually.
CPE Reporting Cycle
January 1st to December 31st
Ethics Requirement

Four (4) hours in the area of accounting professional conduct and ethics during the period of 36 months immediately preceding the expiration date of their current license.

One (1) hour of ethics must be on Arkansas State Board of Public Accountancy specific laws and rules.

Licensees who received their initial license during the current calendar year are exempt from the ethics requirement until their first full calendar year of licensure.



Carryover credit
Excess credits earned can be carried forward and used towards the 120-hour requirement.
Subject Area Restriction
Programs in the subject areas of spirituality, personal health and/or fitness, sports and recreations, foreign language and cultures, and other subjects which will not contribute directly to the professional competence of the licensee are not allowed for CPE.


Arkansas CPA requires 40 hours of CPE to be completed every fiscal year and 120 hours of CPE every 3 years from the period of January 1st to December 31st and must be reported to the Board by December 31st of every year as part of the renewal process.

Click for Further Reference on CPE Regulations for Arkansas CPA

All licensed CPAs in Arkansas must complete 40 hours of approved continuing education annually. A registrant is required to report 40 hours for the current renewal year but allowed to “look back” to include the past 3 years totaling 120 hours if you are deficient in the current reporting year. CLICK HERE for myCPE Packages for Arkansas CPAs that would meet all of your annual continuing education requirements in one go.

Arkansas State Board of Accountancy has implemented a mandatory four hours of Accounting Ethics requirement in every 36-month reporting cycle. One of those hours must be the Arkansas State Board of Accountancy Laws and Rules course.


At myCPE we provide Ethics courses to all Arkansas (AR) CPA as a part of our membership initiative.

The Arkansas (AR) CPA license renewal period ends on December 31st every year.

The reporting period for Arkansas (AR) CPA is from January 1st to December 31st annually.

Here is Link to state board website to access FAQs on CPE Requirement and Regulations for Arkansas CPA

Arkansas State Board of Accountancy does not specify any subject areas for the study! It says that the subject area must contribute directly to the professional competence of a person. And hence all the programs approved for NASBA fields of study on myCPE shall be eligible for CPE Credits for Arkansas CPAs. Click Here for further reference on the state board website.

  • For licensees engaged in the practice of public accountancy, a minimum of 16 hours based on a 40-hour rule or 48 hours based on a 120-hour rule shall be completed in Accounting/Attestation, Accounting Ethics, or Taxation. 
  • For licensees those are not engaged in the practice of public accountancy, the minimum is 8 hours under the 40-hour rule or 24 hours based on the 120-hour rule shall be completed in Accounting/Attestation, Accounting Ethics, or Taxation.

You should choose myCPE Packages for Arkansas Certified Public Accountants (CPA) Professionals for the following reasons:


  • Customized packages as per the CPE requirement
  • 4 hours of Ethics learning requirements are completed
  • Most of the learning is from technical subject areas

Our CPE Package for Arkansas CPAs is 100% compliant with the regulations of the Arkansas State Board of Accountancy and we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you feel the package is non-compliant, please email our support team at (support@my-cpe.com) and let us know how it is non-compliant and we will happily refund your full payment.

Programs in the following subject areas are not acceptable for continuing education: 


Spirituality, personal health and/or fitness, sports and recreations, foreign language and cultures, and other subjects that do not contribute directly to the professional competence of the licensee.

Licensees who receive their initial license during the current calendar year must obtain CPE hours prorated based upon the date of the initial license. They are exempt from the ethics requirement until their first full year of licensure.

All of the following myCPE Learning Activities are approved for Connecticut CPAs CPE

  1. Self-Study Courses (Videos)
  2. Live Webinars
  3. Virtual Events
  4. Articles
  5. Packages
  6. Short Videos
  7. E-Book
  8. Certificate Courses

In addition to the above activities, the following mentioned activities may also contribute towards continuing education

  1. Programs or seminars sponsored by accredited higher educational institutions.
  2. Technical sessions at meetings of recognized national and state accounting organizations and their chapters.
  3. University or college courses offered by accredited institutions
  4. Individual study programs, distance learning, independent study, and self-study for which evidence of satisfactory completion is issued by the provider organization.
  5. Articles, books, or CPE programs.

Note: Combined credit awarded for points 4 and 5 above shall not exceed 80 percent of the total CPE hours required.  

Applicants for renewal of a license must submit with their annual registration a representation that the applicant has met the CPE requirement for issuance of a license together with a CPE statement, in a form prescribed by the Board and, the applicant must retain all supporting documentation for the programs and hours for five (5) years following the end of the year of completion.

The annual license renewal fee for Arkansas (AR) CPA is $110.

An Arkansas CPA can complete a maximum of 80 % of total credits via self-study courses and the 40 CPE Package of myCPE is 100% compliant with that requirement. You can also have a look at our other Package for Arkansas CPAs which will satisfy your 100% live webinar requirements.

Yes, the Nano learning method can be considered for the CPE requirement of Arkansas. A maximum of 4 hours per year of a reporting period can qualify for the nano learning method.

An Arkansas CPA is required to report 40 hours for the current renewal year but allowed to “look back” to include the past 3 years totaling 120 hours if you are deficient in current reporting year.

  • You are in non-compliance if you do not complete at least 40 hours of acceptable CPE by December 31 and this may result in disciplinary action and penalty.
  • The licensee shall complete the balance of the CPE hours for the reporting period and provide the board with appropriate documentation no later than January 31.

If a licensee fails to timely report CPE hours the Board shall serve notice of noncompliance upon the licensee. The notice shall state the nature of the non-compliance. The licensee shall, within thirty (30) days of the date of the notice, deliver acceptable documentation to the Board that the licensee has successfully completed the minimum CPE hours to correct the noncompliance.

As myCPE is approved by NASBA (Sponsor id 143597) many of our courses are approved for Arkansas CPAs. And for further guidance, we have provided details for “QUALIFIES FOR” on each page of the courses about Approval/Qualifications of CPE Credits for your reference.

As myCPE is approved by NASBA (Sponsor id 143597) many of our courses are approved for Arkansas CPAs. And for further guidance, we have provided details for “QUALIFIES FOR” on each page of the courses about Approval/Qualifications of CPE Credits for your reference. However, it will be the responsibility of each attendee to ensure that they are eligible for the Continuing Professional Education Credits based on their occupation/job profile, knowledge requirements as well as guidelines laid down by their regulatory board before registering for the webinars. So, make sure you check with the respective state board or regulatory body.

 

Arkansas State Board of Accountancy governs the accounting and auditing profession in the state of Arkansas! Here is a link to the State Board Website

myCPE APPROVALS

Approved By
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) 143597
Internal Revenue Service (IRS) GEHNZ
California Tax Education Council (CTEC) 6273
Certified Financial Planner Board (CFP) 8061
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) RP5359
Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI) 714694
FP Canada CE17222
American Payroll Association (APA) 372961
Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (TSBPA) 010556
Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (IDFPR) 158002756
New York State Board of Public Accountancy (NYSPA) 002976
Courses Eligible for CPE of Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE) Approved
Courses Eligible for CPE of Certified Valuation Analysts (CVA) Approved
Institute of Finance and Management (IOFM) Approved
Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP) Approved
Certified Senior Advisor (CSA) Approved

We use cookies to make your experience on this website better