Certified Public Accountant (CPA) is a designation the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) gives to individuals who pass the Uniform CPA Examination and meet the education and experience requirements. The CPA designation helps enforce professional standards in the accounting industry. CPA (Certified Public Accountant) is the highest accounting credential in the United States. CPA ensures global recognition for accounting & finance professionals.
The Board of Accountancy provides assurance to the public that the CPA profession in Maine operates at the highest level of professional competence through, verification of education and experience credentials.
MAINE (ME) CPA CPE REQUIREMENT OVERVIEW
|CPE Requirements||40 hours every year|
|License Renewal period||September 30th Annually|
|CPE Reporting Cycle||October 1 to September 30, Annually|
|Ethics Requirement||Four (4) hours in every three years|
|Carry Over Credits||Maine CPA has to take a minimum of 40 CPE credits in a year However Excess Credit up to 20 hours can be carried forward to the next reporting cycle|
|Subject Area Restriction||A Maine (ME) CPA can complete a maximum of 20 CPE hours from Non-Technical subject areas such as Communication, Human resources, Computer Software Applications, Economics, Mathematics and Statistics, and Business Law in every reporting cycle.|
Click for Further Reference on CPE Regulations for Maine CPA.
All licensed CPAs in Maine must complete 40 hours of approved continuing professional education (CPE) annually during the license period. Many of our programs in Live and Self-Study are Approved for continuing education for Maine CPA.
Here is myCPE 40 CPE Package for Maine CPAs that would meet all of your annual continuing education requirements in one go.
Maine (ME) CPA has to earn at least 4 hours in the subject area of ethics every three years. Regulatory AICPA Ethics, Circular 230 Ethics, or Behavioural Ethics all subject areas are approved for qualifying as ethics. At myCPE we provide Ethics Courses to all Maine (ME) CPAs as a part of our membership initiative.
The Maine (ME) CPA license renewal period ends on September 30 every year.
The annual reporting cycle for Maine (ME) CPA is from October 1 to September 30.
No, there are no particular subject area requirements for Maine (ME) CPAs.
You should choose myCPE 40 CPE Package for Maine Certified Public Accountants (CPA) Professionals for the following reasons:
Our CPE Package for Maine CPAs is 100% compliant with the regulations of the Maine State Board of Accountancy and we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you feel the package is non-compliant, please email our support team at (firstname.lastname@example.org) and let us know how it is non-compliant and we will happily refund your full payment.
A Maine (ME) CPA whose initial license is issued between August 1 and March 31 must complete 20 hours of CPE for the first renewal cycle. A person whose initial license is issued between April 1 and July 31 is not required to complete any CPE for the first renewal.
All of the following myCPE Learning Activities are approved for Maine CPAs CPE:
1. Self-Study Courses (Videos)
2. Live Webinars
3. Virtual Events
6. Short Videos
8. Certificate Courses
In addition to the above activities, the following mentioned activities may also contribute towards continuing education
1. Professional development programs of state and national professional accounting societies or institutes;
2. Accredited university or college credit or non-credit courses;
3. Formal correspondence or other individual study programs. Such programs must require registration and provide evidence of satisfactory completion.
4. Formal organized in-firm education programs;
5. Meetings of the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA); and
6. Other formal, organized educational programs
Please note that the following programs do not qualify for CPE credit
1. Any program or course specifically designed to prepare for taking the CPA examination.
2. Committee service with professional organizations.
Online renewal may require you to upload your CPE certificates of completion. If you are not liable to upload your certificates of completion, you should keep your copies in case the board performs an audit of your CPE, you will be responsible for submitting copies of your certificates of completion and/or verification of courses at the time of the audit. You must retain your documentation for at least three (3) annual licensure periods immediately preceding the current licensure period.
The license renewal fee for Maine (ME) CPA is $35. Click here for more information on renewal fees.
A Maine (ME) CPA can complete 100% hours of the total required CPE credits hours via self-study courses. i.e., a Maine (ME) CPA can complete all 40 hours via self-study courses and the 40 CPE Package of myCPE is 100% compliant with that requirement.
No, the Maine Board of accountancy does not allow
courses completed via nano learning to count towards the ME CPE requirements.
A registrant must report, at a minimum, the CPE hours required for the registration renewal period. A maximum of 20 hours that exceed the number required for the current registration renewal period may be carried forward to a subsequent registration renewal period.
A late fee of $50 is assessed for failure to meet the CPE requirements for renewal during the renewal period and may result in disciplinary action. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the expiration date shall be subject to all requirements governing new applicants.
As myCPE is approved by NASBA (Sponsor id 143597) many of our courses are approved for Maine CPAs. And for further guidance, we have provided details for “QUALIFIES FOR” on each page of the courses about Approval/Qualifications of CPE Credits for your reference.
As myCPE is approved by NASBA (Sponsor id 143597) many of our courses are approved for Maine CPAs. And for further guidance, we have provided details for “QUALIFIES FOR” on each page of the courses about Approval/Qualifications of CPE Credits for your reference. However, it will be the responsibility of each attendee to ensure that they are eligible for the Continuing Professional Education Credits based on their occupation/job profile, knowledge requirements as well as guidelines laid down by their regulatory board before registering for the webinars. So, make sure you check with the respective state board or regulatory body.
|National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA)||143597|
|Internal Revenue Service (IRS)||GEHNZ|
|California Tax Education Council (CTEC)||6273|
|Certified Financial Planner Board (CFP)||8061|
|Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)||RP5359|
|Human Resource Certification Institute (HRCI)||714694|
|American Payroll Association (APA)||372961|
|Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (TSBPA)||010556|
|Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation (IDFPR)||158002756|
|New York State Board of Public Accountancy (NYSPA)||002976|
|Courses Eligible for CPE of Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE)||Approved|
|Courses Eligible for CPE of Certified Valuation Analysts (CVA)||Approved|
|Institute of Finance and Management (IOFM)||Approved|
|Society of Trust and Estate Practitioners (STEP)||Approved|
|Certified Senior Advisor (CSA)||Approved|
Dec 01 10:00 AM EDT
Nov 24 09:00 AM EDT
Nov 17 12:00 PM EDT
Nov 10 11:00 AM EDT
Nov 03 10:00 AM EDT
Oct 27 09:00 AM EDT
Oct 20 12:00 PM EDT
Oct 13 11:00 AM EDT
Dec 07 09:00 AM EDT
Nov 30 12:00 PM EDT